Below runs a list of the final statuses of bills introduced in the California Legislature in 2019 which Peace and Freedom Party took a position on or watched during this year’s session.

The Two-Year bills are technically still alive and in January 2020 the authors will try to move them forward. The other bills have either been signed into law by the Governor; killed in the legislature or by a court decision; or vetoed by the Governor.

For details on a bill, click on the link embedded within the given bill number, e.g. AB 1482 or SB 57. For details on statements, resolutions or letters written by the PFP, click here.

PFP supported
AB 32 (Bonta). End contracts with private for-profit prisons – Signed into law by the Governor.

AB 33 (Bonta). Stop CalPERS/CalSTERS investments in private for-profit prisons – Assembly PERS/Two-Year Bill.

AB 36 (Bloom). Weakens Costa-Hawkins exemptions – Assembly Rules – Two-Year Bill.

AB 392 (Weber). Police officers to use deadly force only when necessary to save life – Signed into law by the Governor.

AB 646 (McCarty). Allow those on parole can register to vote if ACA 6 passes – Assembly.  Two-Year Bill.

AB 857 (Chiu). Local public banks – Signed into law by the Governor.

AB 1217 (Mullin). Expands disclose act to issues and sham issue ads – Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments/Two-year Bill.

AB 1481 (Grayson and Bonta). Require just cause evictions with exemptions – Dead.

AB 1482 (Chiu). Statewide cap on rent increases and just cause evictions – Signed into law by the Governor.

AB 1784 (Santiago). Publicly owned open source paper ballot voting system – Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments /Two-year bill.

ACA 6 (McCarty). Allow those on parole to register to vote – Senate Rules Committee – Two-Year Legislation.

SB 47 (Allen). Disclosure of top funder of petitions – Signed into law by the Governor.

SB 212 (Allen). Allows local governments to use RCV in single winner or multi member districts. – vetoed by the Governor.

SB 288 (Wiener). Allows Democratic Party CCCs and Peace and Freedom Party CCC to appoint non-citizens to their CCCs if it is in their bylaws and included intent language to allow for the election of non-citizens in the primary. It – Assembly Elections and Redistricting – Two-Year bill.

PFP opposed
SB 57 (Bates). A person at DMV must affirmatively agree to register or preregister to vote – Senate Constitutional Amendment/Two-Year Bill.

SB 505 (Umberg). Gives Secretary of State more authority regarding presidential primary candidates – Signed into law by the Governor.

• AJR 23 (Mathis). Groups who at under the banner of Antifa to be designated as terrorist organizations – Two-Year Resolution.

On the PFP Legislative Committee watch list
AB 5 (Gonzalez). Clarifies differences between employees and independent contractors – Signed into law by the Governor.

AB 359 (Melendez). Prevent legislators from being a lobbyist for five years after leaving – Dead.

AB 681 (Gonzalez). Requires multi notifications regarding changing parties before presidential primary – Vetoed by the Governor.

AB 855 (McCarty). Study on police use of deadly force – Assembly Public Safety/Two-Year Bill.

AB1245 (Low). Bans contributions by businesses to candidates – Assembly Elections and Redistricting/Two-Year Bill.

AB 1829 (Elections and Redistricting Committee). Removed requiring party endorsements to be sent by certified mail – Signed into law by the Governor.

SB 27 (McGuire). Presidential/Gubernatorial candidates must submit tax returns – Signed into law by the Governor. The President’s tax returns submittal was later overturned by the courts.

SB 37 (Skinner). Corporate tax rates dependent on compensation and increased when move overseas – Senate Rules/Two-Year Bill.

SB 50 (Wiener). Streamlines approval and establishes incentives for housing developments – Senate Appropriations/Two-Year Bill.

SB 225 (Durazo). Allows non-citizens to hold appointed public office – Signed into law by the Governor.

SB 230 (Caballero). Train police officers in use of deadly force – Signed into law by the Governor.

SB 378 (Wiener). Reestablish estate tax with voter approval – Senate Rules/Two-Year Bill. We are no longer watching this bill because it was gutted and amended to deal with electrical rates and power outages.

SB 529 (Durazo). Allows tenant associations – Dead. (It failed in Senate 20-15).

SB 592 (Wiener). Housing accountability – Assembly Rules/Two-Year Bill.

SB636 (Stern). Put names of supporters/opponents of statewide ballot propositions on the ballot – Assembly. Elections and Redistricting/Two-Year Bill.

SB 641 (Allen). RCV removed from bill regarding special elections – Signed into law by the Governor.

SB 696 (Umberg). Prohibits parties from using “independent”, “NPP”, or “DTS” in their names – vetoed by the Governor.

Peace and Freedom Party of California Legislative Committee members are Kevin Akin, Riverside; Mary Lou Finley, San Diego; Dave Kadlecek (Committee Vice Chair), Santa Clara; Tom Lacey, San Francisco; John Reiger, Sacramento; Teresa Sale, Sacramento; Maureen Smith, Santa Cruz; Alice Stek, Los Angeles; Bill Storm, Sacramento; and C. T. Weber (Committee Chairperson), Sacramento.

Professional Joomla Support by IDL Web Inc.